Nowadays, a wide variety of ingredients are used in tempura, from seafood to vegetables, fish, tofu and fruits even buckwheat noddles, ice-creams and bananas.
It is also an interesting, type of batter for people with intolerance to the gliadin protein as the rice flour used in the batter is gluten free.
There is a recipe for tempura batter :
- 0.400g Rice flour.
- 1 Egg yolk.
- 0.100g Iced water.
It is very simple, as traditionally a good tempura batter must have lumps, you don’t have to worry about them.
how about ounces and pounds for us metrically challenged folks?
Looks like 1 cup of water and 1/3 cup of rice flour, more or less. I haven't tried it yet, but I saw another similar recipe, and that was the conversion I worked out. HTH...
0.400 grams of rice flour would be around 1/2 teaspoon, and 0.100 grams of ice water would be a little less than one drop. Something tells me this recipe wasn't entered properly.